London's Tube Network

Article reviewed: 2013/01/17 | Next review due: 2014/08/05

It highly likely that upon your arrival you will take the London Underground, or the ‘Tube’. The oldest subway system in the world, the Underground serves nearly 274 stations on eleven lines in Greater London, with a clear and concise map with each line representing a different colour.

There are 11 underground lines in London, each identifiable by a different colour;

  • Bakerloo line = brown
  • Victoria line = light blue
  • Central line = red
  • District line = green
  • Northern line = black
  • Hammersmith and City line = pink
  • Jubilee line = grey
  • Metropolitan line = purple
  • Piccadilly line = dark blue
  • Waterloo and City Line = turquoise
  • Overground line = orange outline
  • Docklands Light Railway (DLR) = blue outline

For travel on the London Underground, you will need a ticket or an Oystercard. When buying your ticket, note where it is you want to travel. The cost of travel varies with which zones you travel through. London is segmented into 6 zones, zones 1 and 2 correspond to Central London, with zone 6 for example at Heathrow Airport.

Once in the underground, just follow the signs for whichever underground line you are seeking to take, with different platforms depending on which direction you are heading (e.g. Northbound, Southbound, Eastbound or Westbound).

You can find free tube maps in any underground stations, or you can ask for one from any underground ticket desk. Also, the TFL website (TFL) has a detailed journey planner as well as service updates.

Tooltip information:

  • Tube: Underground
  • TFL: Transport for London

0 Comments (Add your comment)

Add a comment:

First name:
email: ( Your email address is not given out and will remain private )

New at ?

Copyright © 2008-2016 Be a Londoner LLP